Events

An Afternoon at Marietta Square

 

This past Sunday, Claire and I drove about 30 minutes away to Marietta Square – the main attraction in Marietta with tons of little shops, art galleries, cultural foods, and a Farmer’s Market!

I’ve only been to the county courthouse in the Square a few times to practice for Mock Trial tournaments but never really got a chance to explore the area completely. I noticed the cute shops lined up close together and the beautiful greenery in the Square. I also remember seeing a nice French cafe, an Australian pie bakery, and multiple ice cream shops. I was ready.

First, Claire and I strolled along the Square and came upon the Farmer’s Market. We saw so many delicious foods: French bakery treats, fresh-squeezed lemonade, lattes, etc. Right next to the outdoor stands, we heard the railroad sirens go off for about five minutes. It blared in our ears as we stood only a few yards away from the tracks. To be honest, I kind of liked it because it felt like a new environment, and I don’t hear it everyday.

IMG_0246
Marietta Farmer’s Market.

After a quick stop at the Farmer’s Market, we went to several little shops. We spent about an hour total just shopping for random things like mugs, wall decor, and jewelry. I’m in the process of redesigning my room, so it was the perfect opportunity to shop for wall decor and random nit bits.

However, I really struggled to find some meaningful quotes to hang on my walls. I searched mostly for quotes that didn’t just sound inspiring but ones that actually had substance. In the end, I found a short book with motivational quotes in it, which, I guess works too.

Then we sat outside for lunch at the Marietta Pizza Company. Claire and I shared some breadsticks covered in Parmesan, and it was so delicious – especially after walking outside in 95-degree weather.

IMG_2126
Breadsticks from Marietta Pizza Company.

I ordered a thin cheese slice, and Claire ordered a thick Vegi slice. When I say thin and thick, I mean it. Claire’s pizza was actually four times thicker than mine.

After lunch, we walked down the street, away from the Square, toward DuPre’s Antique Market. At first, I wasn’t too interested in shopping here simply because I was looking for inexpensive pieces to add to my room, not fancy furniture or decor for an entire home. But as I continued looking through the antique shop, I started to gather a collection of random items, and we ended up shopping there for about an hour.

Claire and I each bought a few vintage art prints for our rooms. I also bought a $7 newspaper with only two sheets, and before you freak out… It’s from February 1957, so I think it’s worth the money.

As we strolled along the Square, we found several alleyways and had some mini photoshoots!

Leave a Reply

